EOC Athletes Commission met in Tallinn

On Monday March 19, the EOC Athletes Commission met for the first time after the elections of its new 12 Members, on occasion of the 9th Athletes Forum and 5th Assembly of the European Athletes held in Monte Carlo (MON) last October.

The meeting was hosted by the Estonian Olympic Committee in Tallinn, the hometown of former EOC EU Commission Chair Jüri Tamm as well as of EOC AC Chair Gerd Kanter, who welcomed all the Members: Jana Daubnerova (SVK – biathlon), Eldar Ronning (NOR – cross-country skiing), Nevriye Yilmaz (TUR – Basketball), Mikko Ronkainen (FIN – freestyle skiing) Luiza Zlotkowska (speed-skating) and David Harte (IRL- field hockey).

The event saw the special participation of Slovak IOC Member Danka Bartekova, recently appointed Vice-Chair of the IOC Athletes Commission.

Amongst the several topics on the agenda, there were the outcomes of PyeongChang Winter Olympic Games, the planning of next year’s European Athletes Forum and the AC representation at the European Games, EYOF and GSSE.

Lastly, the Commission focused on future plans, especially the implementation of the National Athletes Commissions for the 4-year-period 17-21, the creation of an EOC Instagram profile (the most used social network among athletes), as well as the update of the “Terms of References”, proposals of which will be put forward by Gerd Kanter to the next Executive Board meeting in Belgrade.

After the working sessions, athletes had the opportunity to have fun playing curling at Tallinn Curling Arena, continuing their team work in a very vivid Olympic spirit.