Henry Sildaru is 4th at 2021 European Young Athlete of the Year

Biathlete Lena Repinc of Slovenia was awarded the Piotr Nurowski Best Young Athlete prize tonight in Athens following a vote by the 50th General Assembly of the European Olympic Committees (EOC). Henry Sildaru received 4th place. 

Considered one of the most talented young biathletes of the last decade, Repinc claimed the 6th Winter Piotr Nurowski prize ahead of Belgian snowboarder Evy Poppe, Croatian alpine skier Zrinka Ljutic, Estonian freestyle skier Henry Sildaru and British freestyle skier Kirsty Muir.

In addition to the new PNP trophy, Repinc takes home a EUR 15,000 training scholarship, with runner-up Poppe receiving EUR 8,000 and EUR 5,000 going to third-place finisher Ljutic. Fourth- and fifth-placed Sildaru and Muir both received EUR 3,000.

The EOC Piotr Nurowski Prize for Best European Young Athlete was created in 2011 to remember Piotr Nurowski, former President of the Polish Olympic Committee who died tragically in a plane crash a year earlier.

The annual prize is awarded to up-and-coming young athletes who in recent months have showcased not only outstanding sporting achievements but also exceptional conduct on and off the field of play.

Through Nurowski’s example and his memory, the award encourages young athletes to pursue their career in elite sports, and inspires future generations to adopt an exceptional conduct on and off the field of play.