Urmas Sõõrumaa re-elected President of the Estonian Olympic Committee


The general assembly of the Estonian Olympic Committee re-elected Urmas Sõõrumaa as president of the organization.

The vote took place at the 44th plenary session at the historic Kadriorg Stadium on 8th of June. Sõõrumaa, who has been the President of the NOC since 2016, was elected in the first round, collecting 83 votes. Sõõrumaa's competitor, the former vice-president Tõnu Tõniste, received 38 votes.

Sõõrumaa named Erich Teigamägi and Toomas Tõnise as vice presidents.

The new executive board also includes: Allar Levandi, Anne Rei, Hanno Pevkur, Helir-Valdor Seeder, Helle-Moonika Helme, Indrek Saar, Jaanus Karilaid, Kristjan Port, Lauri Luik, Mihhail Kõlvart, Oliver Kruuda, Raivo Rand, Remo Holsmer, Sven Sester, and ex officio chair of NOC athletes commission, discus throw Olympic Champion Gerd Kanter.

Photo: Karli Saul/EOK